My Body

 

I’ve learned a lot about my body and the human body in general in the past few weeks, and I’m not talking about the anatomical aspects of the body, like what Biology classes tend to teach you. I’m talking about general health practices for a longer life and a happier me. Working out everyday (or as close to everyday as possible), has been tough. There were days that I just didn’t want to get dressed in my workout gear and dreaded running 3 miles. In these 5 weeks I’ve gone through some changes, maybe not as massive as some people would prefer but losing inches, losing weight, and toning up is a plus in my books. And I actually didn’t think it’d be possible.

There were tough weeks, consisting of days with only protein, no cheese or sauce (and that’s tough to do after quarters and quarters of Chipotle), but I managed.

 

I think I’ve done more activity in the past 2 months than I’ve done in all of last year, if not the past two years. I’ve worked muscle groups I’ve never touched before: biceps, triceps, lats, chest, legs, legs, legs, calves, abs, oh my. Parts of my body have been sore that I never knew could be sore! But it feels great, and I’m not done yet. There’s been basketball, boxing, and rollerblading, and several 3-mile runs, including at 6am and on hills. My back no longer hurts, only if I’ve lifted a bit too much weight, and I sleep great. And rarely do I crack my back or neck now. Who knew all this was possible.

 

I loved learning about eating disorders, and trying to give everyone I know some type of eating disorder, from orthorexia to an Adonis complex, but life doesn’t work that way. I’ve learned so much about what my body needs and how much of it: protein, carbs, and fats, that no stinkin’ biology class could ever teach (come on, let’s be real…how lipids and saturated fats exist is fascinating and all, but how often do you realize it’s in what you eat…and who the heck ever calls them lipids).

 

In addition to all this, I’ve gone to a Salsa festival AND attended a yoga conference, something my old body wouldn’t have had the guts to do (well, the gut WOULD be there, but not the courage).

 

I love these changes and I’m embracing what is still to come.

 

Exercise, sleep, eat in moderation but healthily and skip the alcohol. Happy living.

 

Xoxo,

WhiteRussian

